Don’t Waste Your Life.

This is a song by flyleaf. I was moved when I have heard the song and the story behind it, the one Lacey tells before she sings the song. It was a testimony of someone telling God is real.

This is Lacey’s Speech (credits to songfacts.com)

“This next song is about a girl that I met when we were on tour… she was burned from her head to her feet. She didn’t have any hair, and her nose was burned off, and her ears were burned off, and it was really hard to look at her. And she came up to me directly and she said I wanna tell you my story. She said, ‘When I was younger I thought that if I got married and had kids I’d live happily ever after. And then when I did get married I was in love and everything and we had our first kid and we started to fight. We fought every day and it got worse and worse to the point where he was beating me every day. And I didn’t wanna wake up anymore.’ And she said, ‘So I put gasoline over myself and set myself on fire to kill myself.’ And I sat there and I was just looking at her just in shock and I didn’t understand why she was telling me all this, because she just looked so honest and vulnerable. And she was like, ‘I just wanna tell you because when I was on fire I was burning, I was in so much pain that I prayed for the first time in my life and I said, ‘God if you’re real, please take my pain away’ and at that moment I went into a coma and when I came to, then I knew, I knew that God was real because he heard my prayer and so I wanna tell you that so that you’ll believe in God and that you won’t waste your life like I did.’

And that’s the whole point of this song, that I wanna tell you guys that you can go through your life and you can go through your emotions and whatever you’re doing and not live life to the fullest. And this woman, she showed me her driver’s license picture from before she was burned, she was so pretty. She was so pretty she could be on a magazine cover. And at that moment she just looked so beautiful to me because beauty is not about this [points to head/body] and that’s what she was showing me, she was saying, she was pleading with me, ‘Don’t waste your life like I did, use it for God, you know for God’ and that’s what she was telling me. So the whole thing was this, she was being selfish and when you’re depressed and when you feel like that you think about suicide. You know that’s something that I’ve dealt with my whole life, since I was very small, very little. I always had dealt with that and really it’s all about you thinking about yourself. It’s very self-centered. And suicide is a very selfish thing and that’s what she was showing me is that when she came back was that her life wasn’t about herself anymore, it was about everyone else around her. And that’s what she was telling me. So that’s what I wrote this song about. It’s called Tina.” (thanks, Tim – PGH, PA)

This is the Lyrics of the Song. (credits to metro lyrics)

I won’t be satisfied with okay
And I can’t be okay with alright
So point me to the edge of life
I’ll stand up on my toes
Stretch my fingers out to there and bring it back here

It’s to important for us to forget
We’ll unify our thoughts
God will hear and save
God will hear and save us

All together standing up on our toes
Reaching for the very thing we don’t know
So catch it as it pours out
We know what we need
Don’t get tired when you’re running back to show them

It’s to important for us to forget
We’ll unify our thoughts
God will hear and save
God will hear and save us

Tina’s eyes are clear chrysolite
How can we not notice her
Now they only stare at her burns
Her small voice so full of honesty

Take care of my loves
I can’t hold on
Keep me alive while I die

They can’t not notice her sickness
Like their own dung sprayed with perfume
They try not to hear her speaking
But they can’t hear anything else

Take care of my loves
I can’t hold on
Keep me alive while I die

I missed my chance
Send one more
I’m not wasting this
I missed my chance
Send one more chance
I’m not wasting this one more chance
I missed my chance
Send one more chance
I’m not wasting this one more chance

The Lesson is we shouldn’t be wasting our life for our selfish reason. Just because we are depressed, we will going to end our Life. That’s a very foolish thing to do. Our life is a very precious gift from God. We should find it’s meaning beneath God’s arm.

=D! Hope you had enjoyed the song. ♥ xoxoxo♥

Leave a Reply

